What I Didn’t Buy: Swiffer Wet Cloths

No More Disposable Swiffer Wet Pads
No More Disposable Swiffer Mopping Cloths

I love Swiffer wet mopping cloths.  They are easy to use, disposable, and much cleaner to use than a mop/bucket.  I prefer using a traditional Swiffer with wet mopping cloths over the Swiffer WetJet because there are fewer parts to replace.

BUT, it isn’t really all that environmentally responsible to keep buying and disposing of the wet mopping refills, is it?  As I mentioned in a previous post – I have a garbage bag filled to the brim with old clothes that are too stained or worn out to donate.  A quick hop onto “the Google” and I found this great post on how to make your own reusable Swiffer wet mopping cloths.  Not only was I finding a way to dispose of some old rags, but the solution (part dish washing soap, part water, part vinegar) was much more environmentally friendly than the chemicals used in the disposable version.

Do It Yourself from The Healthy Tipping Point
Do It Yourself from The Healthy Tipping Point

Check out how to make your own Swiffer wet mopping cloths!! From “The Healthy Tipping Point” blog.

I kept the convenient container that came with my old Swiffer wet mopping cloths to store the ziploc bag of reusable mopping clothes, soaking in the cleaning solution.  That way, I didn’t have to worry about the Ziploc bag taking up an awkward space in my closet.

Your turn!  Any hot tips on how to avoid disposable household products without  sacrificing convenience?

 

 

2 thoughts on “What I Didn’t Buy: Swiffer Wet Cloths

Leave a Reply

